We’re Still Here!
During this time of the Corona Virus pandemic, we want to keep our members and our facilities safe, so for the present the building is not open to the public.
Also because of the pandemic the Woodstock Historical Society has been unable to hold its regular annual meeting. Until we can safely schedule an open meeting to report on the year, elect officers, and pass a budget, the Executive Board has asked the present officers to continue in their positions. We will continue to revisit the question of reopening and scheduling an annual meeting as circumstances and requirements change.
In the meantime, we are still here. If we can answer any questions or provide information by phone or email we will do our best to do so. Leave a message at (860) 928 1035 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
The Original Woodstock
The Town of Woodstock was originally settled in 1686 as New Roxbury by thirteen men (the Goers) from Roxbury, Massachusetts and became the first town in present day Windham County. Thirty families followed the Connecticut Path west from Boston and settled in Wabbaquasset. The first homesteads were set up on Plaine Hill and the Westward Hill. Located on the conjunction of three Indian trails, the area was frequented by traders and was situated on the "great road from Hartford to Boston, and on the road from Providence to Albany." Woodstock has thrived since the early days and has played its part in history. The Commons served as assembly sites for troops during the American Revolution, The War of 1812, and the Civil War. Roseland Cottage hosted Presidential visits in the nineteenth century. Please visit the Woodstock Historical Society Welcome Center next time you are in town and learn more about the fascinating history of our early New England town.